Ulster University Logo

Preliminary classification of coastal dunes of KwaZulu-Natal.

Jackson, Derek, Cooper, Andrew and Green, Andy (2014) Preliminary classification of coastal dunes of KwaZulu-Natal. Journal of Coastal Research, S.I. 7 . pp. 718-722. [Journal article]

Full text not available from this repository.


The 550 km-long KwaZulu-Natal coast broadly divides into a bedrock-framed southern section and northern coastal plain section, each of approximately equal length. Seven types of coastal dune are identified on this coast: estuary barrier dunes; mainland beach foredunes; prograded beachridge dunes; headland bypass dunes; transverse dune fields; parabolic/migrating dunefield; and climbing dunes. The development and distribution of the various dune forms is more strongly controlled by the geological setting than the aerodynamic regime.

Item Type:Journal article
Faculties and Schools:Faculty of Life and Health Sciences > School of Geography and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Life and Health Sciences
Research Institutes and Groups:Environmental Sciences Research Institute > Coastal Systems
Environmental Sciences Research Institute
ID Code:29472
Deposited By: Professor Andrew Cooper
Deposited On:13 May 2014 08:35
Last Modified:13 May 2014 08:35

Repository Staff Only: item control page